Senator Petrowski Receives VFW Legislator of the Year Award

Eau Claire, WI… This morning at its 2014 Annual State Convention the Veterans of Foreign Wars, Department of Wisconsin honored Senator Jerry Petrowski (R-Marathon) as its 2013-2014 Legislator of the Year.

In front of the assembled membership of the VFW, Department of Wisconsin Commander Renee Simpson and Legislative Committee Chair Jason Johns presented the award to Senator Petrowski.  During their remarks Commander Simpson stated: “Senator Petrowski has fully understood veterans issues and the challenges veterans face every day and has worked tirelessly as the Chair of the Senate Transportation, Public Safety, and Veterans and Military Affairs Committee to ensure that we are receiving all possible assistance from the Wisconsin Legislature in helping us in our post military civilian lives. I thank him from the bottom of my heart and am pleased that my fellow VFW members and leadership from around this great state have recognized that here today as well.”

Legislative Committee Chair Jason Johns added: “In all of my years of veterans advocacy, I am hard pressed to recall any legislator who has done more for my fellow veterans that Senator Petrowski has. He has been an outstanding partner in bettering the lives of our great state’s veterans who has sacrificed so much.”

“I am proud of the work we were able to accomplish for veterans this session,” said Senator Petrowski, a fellow veteran. “I sincerely hold these issues close to my heart, and will continue to work to better the lives of our veterans and service members who have sacrificed so much for the freedom we enjoy today.”